Damascus` sit-in for Libya/A significant picture of Italy abroad

No comment.

Had somebody told me that one day I would have walked out in the streets of an Arab country to join a sit-in in solidarity of people that are suffering in another Arab country and I would have seen, first thing, such a sign hold by an unknown protester, I woudn`t have believed this.

“Mo`amar (Gheddafi) go to Italy”, it said..and then added: “they are booking for an ugly model”.

Once upon a time Italy was about history, beauty, culture, art, nice food, beautiful landscapes, great football players (and, yes, colonialism..not a soft one, as Italians believe..an harsh one, on Libya, too).

Now there is a guy in Damascus -and he`s not alone- who thinks that Italy and Libya`s regimes are the same.

Today in Damascus I was screaming and protesting in solidarity of Libyan people and for the crime this crazy guy is committing. But I`m also screaming and protesting over my own country, back to the other side of Mediterranean, where not enough people are screaming and protesting for the crime being committed. And this makes them -us- guilty.

Please, Italy, forget about our Prime minister`s bedtime affairs and do stay focused on what`s happening in Libya which concerns us so much more.

If there is a good reason to have this crazy Berlusconi`s government fall, it`s not Ruby or any other teenagers stuff, but it`s its unbelievable behavior vis-a-vis Libya and its people.

8 thoughts on “Damascus` sit-in for Libya/A significant picture of Italy abroad

  1. I lived in Italy in 1999, working in healthcare system, couldn’t believe how corrupt that was – went back to UK thinking nhs was perfect! (And it certainly isn’t.) Saw Berlusconi’s first election pamphlet, huge shiny thing full of pictures, couldn’t believe he’d get in. Me and my friends all agree, italy’s such a great country, it’s got so much going for it, why do you put up with this crap? I mean, B could not get in just by appealing to the rampant gypsy-phobia/homophobia of old people. What idiots young enough to know better are behind this?

    • Indeed, I agree. Our youth`s fault. We left the country to this thief, the worst thing is that many people are just resigned and waiting for this to pass without doing anything actively. I hope they see what`s happening in the Arab world and take the good example from those we were less expecting to react in such a way. As an Italian, I`m ashamed by this passive attitude we have. As an “Arab”, which I feel a bit after so many years spent in the Region loving this culture, I`m excited to see that the Southern shore of Mediterranean is finally lighting the path to the Northern shore..

  2. Pingback: Damasco, un sit-in per la Libia/Una significativa immagine dell’Italia all’estero « Insegnare Apprendere Mutare

  3. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a lot!

    • yes sure pls feel free to share. as you can notice, my blog is published under a Creative Commons BY SA license, which means that you can do whatever you want at the only conditions of citing the original source and also sharing the information you take from my blog under the same form of license. This means that you should clarify, on your blog, that the content you take from mine is available for other people to be taken again but they have to use the same license: Creative Commons Attribution Share-alike. Hope it`s clear. Pls do not hesitate to ask me for further details. Pls share your blog address, too. cheers!

Leave a Reply

