Back to (online) life

Yes, it has been a while since I last updated this blog, which is really a shame and I do apologize with my readers and with those who kept sending me emails asking questions, demanding advice, references.. However, those who follow my Twitter feed @donatelladr know that I am still pretty active (maybe too active!) in microblogging, especially when it comes to updates on Syria.

It has been a challenging period for me, on a personal and professional level. The Syria situation is so dreadful, and for those like me who still have lots of friends inside, in very difficult conditions, it is not always easy to keep the information flow going. Anyway, there are a number of new, interesting projects coming out of Syria — some of which I have actively contributed to, like Syria Untold, the web aggregator on civil and peaceful resistance movements– . I will blog about it in the next days, inshallah.

On a professional update, it was tough for me but I had to take the sad decision to leave my position as Arab world manager for Creative Commons,  (CC) something that I have been doing for the past five years with passion and enthusiasm. It was one of the most exciting experiences (both professional and human) of my life, and I am very grateful to Joi Ito and Larry Lessig, who gave me their support and a great dose of enthusiasm to start working on building the CC Arab world community back in 2008. Thanks to this incredible opportunity, I had the chance to see a community being born, growing, and developing, with all the challenges, problems and exciting moments that this entails. This coincided with a very interesting phase in the Arab world, especially from 2008 to 2010, when Arab youth, bloggers, activists and tech enthusiasts started  gathering and organizing barcamps, unconferences, geek fests, formal and informal meetings. I feel so blessed to have been part of this very peculiar moment in the history of the Arab world. We toured the region, organized events, peer-produced music and visuals, discussed about technology, life, human rights, planned for a different future of the Region, a future based on openness and sharing.

I still believe that this future is possible, despite the dire circumstances under which the Region lives now. But for me it`s time to move to a different phase, and leave to fresh brains the exciting possibility to continue building open communities in the Arab world. I will surely continue to be an active member of the community. I will never ever leave Creative Commons, which has been my family for so many years; nor give up to the battles for openness and sharing in the Arab world that we have fought and supported. But in the next phase I will be following all this from a little bit of distance, without being involved in the day-to-day operations of organizing and coordinating the community building activities in the Region. In a way, it will be more fun to be just a part of the community and enjoy the meetings and the projects as an active participant rather than an organizer or coordinator. There is an open call now on the Creative Commons` website for a new Arab Regional Coordinator and I hope we`ll soon find somebody to take over this role which requires a lot of responsibilities but it`s also a lot of fun! Please share the call with anyone who might be interested. 

On another note, I have decided to devote more time to my academic research on the Arab world — mostly on Syria, with a focus on media and the grassroots creavitiy in the context of the uprising –. I`ve been offered the great opportunity to join  The Annenberg School for Communication at Penn University as a post doctoral fellow at PARGC (Project for Advanced Research in Global Communication)a new exciting project led by Marwan Kraidy, a Professor of Communication who has authored some of the most important books in the field of Arab media studies (e.g. “Reality Television and Arab Politics. Contention in Public Life“) . It`s great to be joining Marwan and all the other great scholars at Annenberg, and I`m sure I will learn a great deal from this experience..and inshallah also get my book about the politics of Syrian TV drama out..

I want to thank Cathy Casserly, and all my colleagues and friends at Creative Commons for these amazing five years spent together..particularly the CC Arab world community without whom this would have been simply a job, and not a life-enriching  experience as it actually was and, in fact, still is.

And now I promise I will keep this blog much more up-to-date than it was in the past months… 

Leave a Reply

